Fekkai Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Fekkai
Shop Shampoos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO

ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO

ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
User rating:
4.289 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(142 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (142 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
48
3 stars
17
2 stars
1
1 star
4
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Review 1 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: razstar08
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine, Providing Lasting Style
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/30/14

Moisturizing

"I have been using this product for about 2 weeks now. First off the smell is amazing, not too strong, but a very clean fresh scent with is perfect for me. The shampoo was very clarifying and did not weight down my curly hair. It left is feeling silky clean after 1 rinse and it was not drying whatsoever. Would definitely use more often now :)"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine, Providing Lasting Style
Review 2 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Sunny
Recommends for: clarifying
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/30/14

Good shampoo...

"PROS: (1) This shampoo is it smells amazing! (2)Provides a very rich lather.
CONS: (1) I felt like the shampoo stripped my hair of moisture. I have natural AA hair, and maintaining moisture is important during the winter months. I felt like this stripped my hair and made it very dry.
OVERALL: For my purposes, this may best be used as a clarifying shampoo only and should be followed with a very good deep conditioner."
Recommends for: clarifying
Review 3 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: cajgall
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine, Providing Lasting Style
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/24/14

loved this

"Had such a great experience with this shampoo and conditioner... would definitely purchase again."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine, Providing Lasting Style
Review 4 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: kellyanne0481
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:1-2 years
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/24/14

Good Shampoo

"This shampoo is really moisturizing. It smells great as well. Personally, I prefer the brilliant glossing line from Fekkai because it works better on my hair, but this shampoo works really well. I have been using it as a once a week option so my hair doesn't get used to the same kind of shampoo all the time."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage
Review 5 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Discordia77
Location:Cleveland, OH
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/21/14

Great for Curly Hair

"I have crazy curly hair and in the winter it frizzes out. I tried this shampoo and it cleaned my hair without drying it out. It surprised me a bit since I normally don't have that much luck when shopping for shampoos. I would highly recommend it for anyone with curly hair. Cleans without striping, essential."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Review 6 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: CrochetGirl
Location:Iowa
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/18/14

Great Product

"This shampoo makes my hair feel great. It's very smooth and the shampoo smells good too. I would definitely buy this and recommend to friends."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Review 7 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: moonbeam439
Location:Charlotte, NC
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:45-54
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/18/14

Thrilled with Fekkai Essential Shea Shampoo!!

"I received this as a test product from Influenster, and have to say I am sold. The first thing I noticed about this product was the smell. which was amazing. I applied this shampoo to my head and it was pure heaven. The shampoo felt so silky it was the best feeling Ive had from a shampoo in my life! I almost didn't want to rinse it out! But the silky feeling and invigorating feeling was still there!! Highly recommend!!"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Review 8 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Krickket
Location:Boston, MA
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/18/14

Loved this product- So did my cat

""I used this shampoo on my dry hair and was pleasantly surprised. It smelled fantastic and really lathered up nice. When styling my hair after wash, my hair felt healthier- stronger, less brittle and less dry. The shine was stunning. The only downside was the fragrance. I loved it, but so did my cat. She loved it so much that all three times I used the product (i wash my hair at night before bed), she rubbed all over my hair, ate my hair, and sat directly on my hair and kept eating it for hours after. Kind of funny, kind of disturbing. But overall, I loved this product!""
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Review 9 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: CSCHELLI
Location:South Dakota
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/17/14

Enjoyed this product!

"I am always buying cheap shampoo and this product has changed my mind! It not only smells great, but was very nice on my dry, colored hair! Love it!"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Protecting Hair Color
Review 10 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by: runner47
Location:Idaho
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Date:11/17/14

Nice Shampoo

"I have been using this shampoo daily for several weeks to make sure that I would give it a thorough test. The result? I'm pretty satisfied, and I would consider purchasing this shampoo and other Fekkai products in the future.
The shampoo lathers well and has a mild but pleasant fragrance. It's not harsh, and after using it, my hair never feels like it has been stripped. It leaves my hair feeling clean, fresh, relatively soft, and frizz free. Because it's such a high quality shampoo, I only have to use a little bit to get all of my long, thick hair clean.
I would recommend this shampoo to anyone with long, thick, dry hair. My hair is not color treated."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Review 11 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Anonymous
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Volume
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/17/14

Decent Product

"I received this product for free for review from Influenster. Overall the product is decent, nothing to run home and shout from the roof tops. I used the entire product line and noticed my hair did feel softer and tangled less. The product did leave my hair a bit oily which may have just been from the shea butter. It was on par with other salon hair products and I would purchase it again, but maybe a different scent."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Volume
Review 12 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Dina
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/14/14

Love this shampoo

"I received a sample of this shampoo in my VoxBox to test new products I have to admit, I really love this shampoo. I had never used Fekkai products before but I will now. Totally worth the cost. This Shea one smelled especially good and made my hair very soft and easy to manage. I also used the Fekkai Shea Conditioner, you cant use one without the other :)"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage
Review 13 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Shoppinggal
Location:Miami, FL
Recommends for: Adding Volume, Providing Lasting Style
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/14/14

Awsome.....

"OMG sums it up. My hair didn't feel stripped after rinsing. I have extremely oily hair. Usually after just one day my hair is oily and felling nasty. But after using this once my hair felt soft for days. I didn't need to wash my hair as often. It smells great. I was really surprised by the quality."
Recommends for: Adding Volume, Providing Lasting Style
Review 14 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: MFJJ
Recommends for: caucasian hair, natural curly or straight hair
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/13/14

Good

"Usually washing my hair is a nightmare because my coarse hair gets all tangled up. Unfortunately, this shampoo didn't make it all smooth during the wash so I hope your other shampoos will work for me."
Recommends for: caucasian hair, natural curly or straight hair
Review 15 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Penguina
Location:Bordentown, New Jersey
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:11/12/14

Disappointing Shampoo

"I was very disappointed when I first opened the bottle and smelled the shampoo. It smells awful and it made me very reluctant to try using this at all. I did not expect it to smell terrible or make my hair smell just as bad. During damp days, I tend to have a bit of frizz but this didn't even help with that. I was hopeful given the other positive reviews. But I found it strange that no one seems to mention how bad it smells. I will not be using this product again."
Review 16 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: KimH
Location:Los Angeles
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/12/14

Really Soft!

"The shampoo didn't lather that much, so I feel like it was extra gentle. It didn't seem like it was stripping anything off my hair like some others do. It rinsed out easily. Even before I put the conditioner in if felt softer. It might be too heavy for finer hair, but mine is pretty thick and this was nice and luxurious."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Review 17 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Veloria
Location:New York, NY
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/12/14

Love this product

"I have been using this product for the past 2 weeks and my hair has never felt better. The scent is delicious. I only have a sample of it, but plan to buy a full-size bottle when it's empty."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls, Adding Shine
Review 18 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Christal
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Volume, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:11/12/14

Naturally Curly (3C)

"Although it wasn't the most moisturizing conditioning shampoo I've tried it wasn't drying. It did add volume but it did not detangle my hair as it claims it would nor did it define my curls. It did leave my scalp and hair feeling clean and because it was so creamy a little went a long way. The highlight of this formula is its scent. I absolutely love the smell of this shampoo."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Volume, Adding Shine
Review 19 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: krisnicole2224
Location:evansville in
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/12/14

great product

"Tried this sample for the first time and loved it! Has a great smell and it really moisturizes your hair. would be great in the summer to tame the frizz. I love that its sulfate free and paired with the conditioner it really leaves your hair smooth and shiny"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Review 20 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: BellaLinda
Location:NY,NY
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:11/12/14

Great fragrance

"I have thin hair so little goes a long way. Smells great, smoothed hair without leaving heavy build up. hair stays moisturized & shiny."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls, Adding Shine