Fekkai Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Fekkai
Shop Shampoos or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO

ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO

ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
User rating:
4.391 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Review 1 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by: Angelgirl409
Location:Rockaway Park, NY
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Date:10/28/14

Would not replace my current shampoo with this one

"My hair is very thick, very coarse, curly and can be frizzy. I've been using the same shampoo for a while now and am happy with that product. This was a change up for me. I like that it doesn't have too strong a smell, nor is it too flowery. It's very clean scent, but not really a scent I enjoy for shampoo. It left my hair sort of heavy, which is why I wouldn't buy this product on a regular basis. I felt like it weighed down my curls instead of helping them stay bouncy. It left my hair feeling nice and silky, which I enjoyed. All in all, I wouldn't use this product on a regular basis, and find I went back to my regular shampoo after a few uses."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Protecting Hair Color
Review 2 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: acook
Location:San Diego, ca
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Gender:Female 
Age:18-24
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/27/14

overall a good shampoo

"This was my first time using a Fekkai product and I have always seen it in the store. First impression I liked the smell, not too overpowering but still a nice fragrance. I have curly hair, so I tend to have dry hair and use quite a bit of styling product in it. I felt like I didn't have to use a lot of the shampoo which was nice. My hair was left feeling soft and not as tangled after my shower. I've been using this for a week and a half now and am so far very pleased with the results."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Review 3 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by: Jewels
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Date:10/27/14

High-end Salon in my Shower

"Great Shampoo. I'm cheap an use suave that's $1.00 but tried this and "WOW" it is amazing. It is so rich and luxurious. It just feels great in the palm of your hand. It has a creamy, thick lather and feels very high end salon-ish. It smells kind of like bananas in my opinion and it's probably the least thing I like about it (the scent), and the name...it's a tough one to say. It feels as if it coats your hair and my hair felt healthier just using it once! I would recommend this."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Review 4 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Momof4Darby
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:45-54
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Short
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/27/14

Excellent product

"This shampoo smells so good and works great. It is thick and you don't use a lot to get complete coverage while washing. The Shea softens your hair and takes away frizz. Use it with the coordinating conditioner to experience the ultimate cleaning and softening combination."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine, Protecting Hair Color
Review 5 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Whitunfiltered
Location:Washington, DC
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/27/14

A Shea Duo That Works!

"I received a sample of the shampoo and conditioner in an Influenster box. I was super hesitant but one wash I’m sold. Like, “pinch me” this is too good to be true sold. As an African American woman with natural (dry) curly hair, I’ve tried every Shea shampoo/conditioner under the sun. This is truly the best. I found the shampoo and conditioner to be really rich and moisturizing. This line has a very clean – almost a light citrusy sent."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Review 6 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Debs
Location:Bangor, PA
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/25/14

Made my hair look great

"I have been using this product for about 7 days now. My hair is very thick but straight with a tiny bit of wave. Once I turned 40 my hair has become very dry. Since using this shampoo my hairstyle has looked great and my hair feels soft and not so dry as it usually is. The fragrance is also very nice. Not fruity and not too flowery."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Review 7 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Garv
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Volume, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/25/14

Loving the feel!

"I am loving the feel of my hair after using this shampoo. My wavy hair has the greatest beachy looking waves all day, and it is so soft and bouncy! I would highly recommend this shampoo!"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Volume, Adding Shine
Review 8 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: jnee
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Date:10/25/14

This is awesome!

"I have pretty dry hair - naturally. I know this now. But for the longest time, I would assume it's from all the blow-drying and man handling of my hair, so I would always purchase hair products that are for repair. But it never really helped with my frizzy hair and only made things more oily/brittle. No more! This stuff is awesome because it moisturizes my hair and makes it feel sooo healthy! I don't think I can go back to the stuff from before. Sad, I know."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Review 9 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Anonymous
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine, Providing Lasting Style, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/25/14

Amazing Results

"I was surprisingly shocked that this worked for me. I have a couple of friend's that has used this product in the past and their was extremely drying after one use. Well, for me it worked great on my hair. My hair was so soft after using it. It was not dry or brittle, and it smells great also. Well done Fekkai! Also, I must say that my hair is not natural and it is relaxed. Not sure if that makes a difference."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine, Providing Lasting Style, Protecting Hair Color
Review 10 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: dennie
Location:Laredo, TX
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls, Adding Volume, Repairing Damage, Providing Lasting Style, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Soft and Fluffy

"I was using Wen but this shampoo left my hair feeling amazing. The shampoo untangled my hair and no shampoo has ever done that. It smells pretty but the smell is not over powering. I am definitely changing from Wen to Fekkai. I didn't have to use too much of it so that was awesome and I don't have to wash my hair as often either. I loved how this shampoo minimized my frizz and helped make my curls more defined with minimal stray hair."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls, Adding Volume, Repairing Damage, Providing Lasting Style, Protecting Hair Color
Review 11 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: twistedstar82
Location:Lancaster, CA
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

I'm in love!

"I've never been so excited to share my review on a product. Upon opening the bottle the Shea fragrance is the first thing I fell in love with. The smell is oh so soothing and you get the sense of complete luxury! I shampooed my hair, and right away you could feel the difference right as you are working the shampoo into your hair. You don't get too many suds, just enough to know you are getting that hair clean. When rinsing I could also immediately feel how smooth and tangle free, just from the wash! Paired with the conditioner, hands down this is the best shampoo I have experienced. I've searched far and wide for a product that would leave my hair this soft, tangle free and smelling amazing. My hair is naturally curly so I was curious how this combo would work on my hair both straight and curly. Worn curly, my curls were soft, defined, no frizz and holy moly the shine was gorgeous! My second wash was for the straightened part of my everyday look. My locks resulted so soft, shiny and healthy looking! I felt like I just left the salon! Thank you so much Fekkai for this product. It really is amazing!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Protecting Hair Color
Review 12 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Kristen
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Nice

"I had tried this brand of shampoo before, but never this specific type. While the smell was very nice and it did get the job done it just didn't blow me away."
Review 13 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Hennagrrl
Location:San Diego, CA
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Protecting Hair Color
Gender:Female 
Age:45-54
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Short
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Moisture without the Grease

"My hair is fine, frizzy, curly, and aging. It needs moisture, moisture, moisture! But many products add moisture but are also greasy which weighs my hair down and makes it look and feel as if I hadn't washed it at all! Or a shampoo labelled as moisturizing will make my hair feel stripped and strawlike. But this shampoo really delivers lightweight moisture. The scent is pleasant without being overpowering and the texture is creamy. But the proof is in how my hair feels afterwards: soft, bouncy, and frizz-free. This shampoo is a winner!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Protecting Hair Color
Review 14 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by: Rehtaeh13
Location:Delran, NJ
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Great Moisture

"I was psyched to have gotten this product. I started using it in my routine for about a week. I really enjoy the shine and moisture that it gives my hair. It really makes my hair feel clean after I am finished using it. Even after not washing for a day, you can still feel the moisture, and the smell of the shampoo. The smell, I am not fond of. Reading the back it says hints of jasmine and other items. I was thinking it would smell "spa like." I feel like it smells a bit chemically. But that won't stop me from actually using it again. The pro's outweigh the cons with this one. Totally recommend this!"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Review 15 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: happygirl
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Feeling pretty!!

"I'm not one to write a review but I had to this time. I tried the Essentials Shea Shampoo and Conditioner and I absolutely loved the experience!! The shampoo is creamy, smells fabulous and I could tell that it was moisturizing as soon as I started to wash my hair. The fragrance is mild but still sweet enough that you feel you are having your hair washed at the salon. I love that smell!! When I blew out my hair it was soft, moisturized and felt luxurious. I felt like I spent the morning at the salon and well any morning like that is a start to a great day!! Thank you Fekkai for the experience!!"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair
Review 16 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: TravelJenn
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Great Shampoo!

"I was offered this product to try for my honest opinion. I loved this shampoo! My hair was dry and flat, this gave me back shine and I love it!"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Adding Shine
Review 17 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Monkeyingyang
Location:Washington, D.C.
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Gender:Female 
Age:18-24
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Moisturizing, rich

"This is a very moisturizing, lovely jasmine scented shampoo. After using it I almost felt like I didn't need to use conditioner! But I have curly hair, so of course I did. I really like how rich this shampoo is."
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Defining Curls
Review 18 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: ximenitas
Location:Whittier, CA
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Repairing Damage
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Curly
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Reduced Frizz

"This product was great on my curly frizzy hair. Living in Southern California, a lot of change in weather from hot to cold has really taken a toll on my hair. I have tried to find products that do not contain much harsh chemicals and this product definitely has met my standards. It has reduced my frizziness and it has defined my curls greatly."
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Repairing Damage
Review 19 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
5 of 5
5 of 5
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: Kindler
Recommends for: Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Performance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Love it

"I received a free sample and fell in love! The smell is amazing. Not overpowering but lasts all day and my hair is so soft now."
Recommends for: Adding Shine
Review 20 for ESSENTIAL SHEA SHAMPOO
Overall
2 of 5
2 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by: NewMom2014
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
5 of 5
5 of 5
Fragrance
5 of 5
5 of 5
Date:10/24/14

Good, but Not For My Hair

"I received the Fekkai Shea Shampoo and Conditioner from
INFLUENSTER free of charge to review. The smell and texture of the Shea shampoo and conditioner are wonderful. When I got the shampoo and conditioner I wanted to really like it, but it is not for my hair type. The shampoo and conditioner leaves fair super soft, but throughout the course of the day my hair gets increasingly oily. I'm not sure if this is from the Shea or just my hair in general. Great product, but thinking it's just too smoothing for my hair?
"
Recommends for: Moisturizing Hair, Repairing Damage, Adding Shine