Fekkai Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Fekkai
Shop Styling or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY

SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY

SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
User rating:
1.25 of 5
1.3
 of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Review 1 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
2 of 5
2 of 5
Performance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Eliza
Location:Connecticut
Recommends for: hair that needs to stay in place, updos
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:10/17/14

Avoid if possible

"I received this product complimentary for testing purposes, and it was awful. I hate helmet hair and so I prefer to use lightweight, "combable" sprays. While this was a sheer spray, I assumed it would be somewhat light. It was not. It froze my hair in place, which is fine for some uses, but not for every day, and the scent was terrible. It also dulled the look of my hair. I will keep this as an emergency hair spray only, but I would not recommend this for every day use or if you prefer lighter sprays that actually let your hair move."
Recommends for: hair that needs to stay in place, updos
Review 2 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by: jchen3605
Location:Atlanta, GA
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Adding Volume
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Date:10/15/14

Soft Hold

"i like this hair spray. It smells like your standard drug store hair spray. but it does not make those white dry flakes that most drug store hairsprays do. It has a light hold, but for my dull strait boring hair, it held the curls very well. definitely recommend. worth the money."
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Adding Volume
Review 3 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Tina
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:3-5 years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:8/29/14

So dissapointed

"I have no idea why they changed this hair spray. I loved the old formula. It smelled so nice before and I got lots of compliments with it.
It just feels cheap now."
Review 4 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Vanessa
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:8/8/14

Why was the formula changed??

"I wish I could have given each category no stars. Just like every other reviewer said, it's NOTHING like the old sheer hold hairspray, which was perfect. This formula is terrible, it's NOT flexible hold, and smells so cheap. Now it's just like any other drugstore hairspray, except this one carries the hefty price tag. I didn't mind spending the money on the old formula because it was such an amazing product. I will not be buying this new hairspray again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Kathe1351
Location:Grosse Pointe MI
Recommends for: return or throw away
Gender:Female 
Age:65+
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:1-2 years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:5/28/14

Terrible product

"I ordered 3 cans thinking that it was the same as the previous hairspray (white can - brushable). What a disappointment. I will send back the 2 unused cans. Why on earth did they change the formula? The new product smells like the cheap hairspray at the drugstore, it makes my hair brittle, and has no redeeming qualities. If you have some of the old product left, please send it to me. The previous product was perfect for my hair - the best hairspray I ever found. What on earth are you thinking????????"
Recommends for: return or throw away
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: LBROWN
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:5/3/14

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"If you were a fan of the old hairspray, this is NOTHING like it! I don't know why they would change the formula other than to make a cheaper version and sell it at the same price. This smells awful, leaves your hair sticky, and makes your hair feel like straw! All of my friends and family used this hairspray (I worked at Bath and Body Works and got everyone hooked on it) and everyone is disappointed and left trying to find a new brand. Even worse, there was no announcement that they changed it and I bought 3 huge bottles and am stuck with them. BRING THE OLD VERSION BACK PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 7 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: shortstuff
Recommends for: not one person
Gender:Female 
Age:45-54
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Short
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Date:5/1/14

What Happened

"Sadly this is one horrible product. I have been a faithful user of sheer hold hairspray for years. This smells horrific and leaves a sticky mess behind. Do not waste your money-
Note: It's advertised as the sheer hold spray but beware...when you open the can to try it, only to discover it isn't the same, Fekkai won't take it back. Rip off!!!!!!!
"
Recommends for: not one person
Review 8 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: PADisappointed
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:4/28/14

AWFUL

"Just like all the other reviews! This new formula is HORRIBLE. The old formula was the only hair spray I would use. This new version is terrible. It literally smells awful, makes my hair sticky, I HATE it.
Why on earth would you change something that was so wonderful? Please, please read what your consumers are telling you."
Review 9 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: madison
Location:Manhattan
Recommends for: would never recommend this product to anyone!
Gender:Female 
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:4/19/14

Terrible Product - Why did you change the formula?

"I agree with all of the other reviewers. This "new" formula is absolutely terrible - the worst spray I've ever used. I was a big fan of the old formula in the white bottle - It was perfect - it was light and yet held the hair really well. This "new" product is heavy, sticky, smells terrible - just awful. It's worse than the cheapest drugstore brand. And I'm stuck with two of them! I bought two thinking they were the same as the old product with different packaging. ...
I'm a long-time Fekkai fan. I've been using his products for over 15 years. But I'm getting more and more disillusioned with the brand as they keep discontinuing great products (such as the Baby Blonde shampoo and, more recently, the "full volume root lifting spray"), and changing the formulas of existing great products (like this hair spray). If you have perfection, why change it? Makes no sense. If you're just trying to charge more money - just make the container smaller - but KEEP THE SAME FORMULA!
I'="
Recommends for: would never recommend this product to anyone!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: justc
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:4/3/14

WHY????

"I cannot understand why you would take a product that is perfection and replace it with a disaster. I agree with the other reviewers. Please go back to the original formula. It was the best I have ever found, and I have tried them all! Why change something that is already as good as it gets?!?!?!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Lori
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:2/1/14

Not at all the same!!!

"I am SO disappointed in this new formula! It does not hold the same and the scent is so overpowering! It makes my hair sticky like cheap hairspray. Please bring back the old formula! This is horrible......"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Anonymous
Location:Portland, Ore
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:1/6/14

Not the same

"I've been using this hairspray for years & never found anything to compare... However, just bought this at walgreens today and it is not the same! Packaging is different, scent is different, ingredients different:( so sad!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.