Fekkai Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Fekkai
Shop Styling or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY

SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY

SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
User rating:
2.042 of 5
2
 of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
13
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorses any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Review 1 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: mysderee
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Curly
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
4 of 5
4 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:10/23/14

does what it says

"I typically avoid hairspray unless I have an updo, but I tried this the last time I wore my hair down and was pleasantly surprised. It works just as promised - light and soft, but kept the hair where I wanted it. Good product."
Review 2 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by: Tracie
Location:Kansas
Recommends for: Providing Lasting Style
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Date:10/22/14

Good... but worth it?

"This product worked well, creating lasting hold and body. But, for the price I have to ask myself, does this work better than my go to brand that cats less? The answer would be no.
I received this courtesy of Influenster for review purposes."
Recommends for: Providing Lasting Style
Review 3 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
2 of 5
2 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Anonymous
Location:Eau Claire, WI
Recommends for: holding my hair style
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:1-2 years
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
2 of 5
2 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:10/21/14

Good Hairspray without feeling weighed down.

"I've been using this hairspray now for just about a week and I like how it doesn't feel heavy or like a helmet where I sprayed it. My hair is fine and usually hairspray doesn't work for me. This product smells nice (not much of a scent at all) and holds my style in place without me really knowing its there.
I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes."
Recommends for: holding my hair style
Review 4 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by: mmlovers90
Location:SE Michigan
Gender:Female 
Age:45-54
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Date:10/20/14

Did not work.

"This product simply did not work on my hair. It performed as though I had not used any product at all in my hair. I tried using this product on a normal day, humid day, and slightly rainy day all with the same effect. No change in my hair and absolutely no hold at all. Such a bummer. It did smell nice though! ;-) DISCLAIMER: I received this products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes."
Review 5 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by: EricaC
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Date:10/20/14

OK Hair Spray

"I tried this hair spray after receiving a free sample. I noticed right off that the smell was very alcohol-like which was a turn off. I wasn't seeking a heavy hold so I don't know how It would hold up to dancing or a night out but my hair didn't curl or frizz when I got hot after using this. I also liked that it wasn't very sticky,"
Review 6 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Bella88
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Adding Volume, Providing Lasting Style
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:10/20/14

Hairspray Trial

"I just tried the Fekkai Sheer Hold hairspray, and I was impressed. It really does have a great hold without wearing your hair down. It also gives really great volume that lasts all night. Your hair doesn't feel sticky or hard. It has a natural feeling which is something I look for in a hair spray. I would definitely recommend this."
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Adding Volume, Providing Lasting Style
Review 7 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: Jenn
Recommends for: Adding Volume, Adding Shine
Performance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:10/20/14

Nice Hairspray

"This is nice hairspray for a light hold. It is perfect for my straight, bobbed haircut when trying to add a little volume and shine."
Recommends for: Adding Volume, Adding Shine
Review 8 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Juliezerk
Gender:Female 
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:10/19/14

Don't waste your money

"I love their shampoo so I was excited to try this hairspray! Well it was a let down. It didn't smell good at all, and I feel like it didn't keep my bangs in place at all. Just kind of seems like a product you could do without."
Review 9 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Takemeorleaveme13
Recommends for: no one
Gender:Female 
Age:18-24
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:10/19/14

Stay away

"I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes
This hairspray left my hair a tangled, sticky, crunchy mess, with no hold and flakes. Nothing positive to say at all. Also the smell is worse than standard drugstore hairspray in my pinion and it stays in my hair."
Recommends for: no one
Review 10 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
4 of 5
4 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by: NikkiRae
Recommends for: Providing Lasting Style
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Date:10/18/14

I like it

"I received my Fekkai sheer hold hairspray complimentary from Influenster. I thought it was a pretty good hairspray. I like the scent, it's light and slightly floral. It left my hair feeling like there wasn't any product in it and it still held my hair in place. It's a win for me."
Recommends for: Providing Lasting Style
Review 11 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by: ycmamacita
Recommends for: Providing Lasting Style
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Date:10/18/14

Works pretty well

"I am not too fond of the fragrance. The spray is also a little more sticky feeling than I would like it to be. It does hold all day though.
*I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes."
Recommends for: Providing Lasting Style
Review 12 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
2 of 5
2 of 5
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: BecksGumby
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Natural Color
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
3 of 5
3 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:10/18/14

Not the best scent, but works OK

"I got a sample of this from my VoxBox. I rarely use hairspray, so I am not 100% sure how well this works. The smell is too floral, and I was not feeling that. It did not make my hair feel sticky or stiff, but I also feel like it really wasn't doing much."
Review 13 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
2 of 5
2 of 5
Performance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Eliza
Location:Connecticut
Recommends for: hair that needs to stay in place, updos
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:All-Over Color 
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:10/17/14

Avoid if possible

"I received this product complimentary for testing purposes, and it was awful. I hate helmet hair and so I prefer to use lightweight, "combable" sprays. While this was a sheer spray, I assumed it would be somewhat light. It was not. It froze my hair in place, which is fine for some uses, but not for every day, and the scent was terrible. It also dulled the look of my hair. I will keep this as an emergency hair spray only, but I would not recommend this for every day use or if you prefer lighter sprays that actually let your hair move."
Recommends for: hair that needs to stay in place, updos
Review 14 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
3 of 5
3 of 5
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by: jchen3605
Location:Atlanta, GA
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Adding Volume
Gender:Female 
Age:25-34
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:Under 1 year 
Performance
4 of 5
4 of 5
Luxurious Experience
3 of 5
3 of 5
Fragrance
2 of 5
2 of 5
Date:10/15/14

Soft Hold

"i like this hair spray. It smells like your standard drug store hair spray. but it does not make those white dry flakes that most drug store hairsprays do. It has a light hold, but for my dull strait boring hair, it held the curls very well. definitely recommend. worth the money."
Recommends for: Defining Curls, Adding Volume
Review 15 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Tina
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:3-5 years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:8/29/14

So dissapointed

"I have no idea why they changed this hair spray. I loved the old formula. It smelled so nice before and I got lots of compliments with it.
It just feels cheap now."
Review 16 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Vanessa
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:8/8/14

Why was the formula changed??

"I wish I could have given each category no stars. Just like every other reviewer said, it's NOTHING like the old sheer hold hairspray, which was perfect. This formula is terrible, it's NOT flexible hold, and smells so cheap. Now it's just like any other drugstore hairspray, except this one carries the hefty price tag. I didn't mind spending the money on the old formula because it was such an amazing product. I will not be buying this new hairspray again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: Kathe1351
Location:Grosse Pointe MI
Recommends for: return or throw away
Gender:Female 
Age:65+
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Shoulder 
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:1-2 years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:5/28/14

Terrible product

"I ordered 3 cans thinking that it was the same as the previous hairspray (white can - brushable). What a disappointment. I will send back the 2 unused cans. Why on earth did they change the formula? The new product smells like the cheap hairspray at the drugstore, it makes my hair brittle, and has no redeeming qualities. If you have some of the old product left, please send it to me. The previous product was perfect for my hair - the best hairspray I ever found. What on earth are you thinking????????"
Recommends for: return or throw away
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: LBROWN
Gender:Female 
Age:35-44
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Long
Hair Type:Wavy
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:5/3/14

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"If you were a fan of the old hairspray, this is NOTHING like it! I don't know why they would change the formula other than to make a cheaper version and sell it at the same price. This smells awful, leaves your hair sticky, and makes your hair feel like straw! All of my friends and family used this hairspray (I worked at Bath and Body Works and got everyone hooked on it) and everyone is disappointed and left trying to find a new brand. Even worse, there was no announcement that they changed it and I bought 3 huge bottles and am stuck with them. BRING THE OLD VERSION BACK PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 19 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: shortstuff
Recommends for: not one person
Gender:Female 
Age:45-54
Hair Color:Highlights
Hair Length:Short
Hair Type:Straight 
Fekkai User for:5+ years
Date:5/1/14

What Happened

"Sadly this is one horrible product. I have been a faithful user of sheer hold hairspray for years. This smells horrific and leaves a sticky mess behind. Do not waste your money-
Note: It's advertised as the sheer hold spray but beware...when you open the can to try it, only to discover it isn't the same, Fekkai won't take it back. Rip off!!!!!!!
"
Recommends for: not one person
Review 20 for SHEER HOLD HAIRSPRAY
Overall
1 of 5
1 of 5
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by: PADisappointed
Performance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Luxurious Experience
1 of 5
1 of 5
Fragrance
1 of 5
1 of 5
Date:4/28/14

AWFUL

"Just like all the other reviews! This new formula is HORRIBLE. The old formula was the only hair spray I would use. This new version is terrible. It literally smells awful, makes my hair sticky, I HATE it.
Why on earth would you change something that was so wonderful? Please, please read what your consumers are telling you."